Laws in Victoria

In Australia we have a federal system of government that governs all Australian states and territories. This means that both federal and Victorian laws apply to people in Victoria.

Under our federal system, the power to make laws is shared between the federal parliament in Canberra and each state parliament.

The federal parliament has power to make laws that affect all of Australia, whereas the Victorian Parliament can only make laws that affect Victoria. To make this clear the Australian Constitution outlines the laws that can be made by the federal parliament.

Read more Where do the laws come from?

This page was last updated on July 23, 2014