Supreme Court of Victoria

210 William Street, Melbourne

The Supreme Court deals with serious criminal cases and complex civil cases. It is the highest court in Victoria and is headed by the Chief Justice of Victoria who is the most senior judicial officer in the state.

The Supreme Court is divided into two divisions – the Trial Division and the Court of Appeal. The only court that is superior to the Supreme Court is the High Court of Australia.

It is located in central Melbourne and travels on circuit throughout Victoria during the year – check the Supreme Court website for details.

Trial Division

The Trial Division hears major criminal matters, including murder, and civil cases involving major sums of money or complex legal matters.

The Chief Justice and Supreme Court justices make up the Trial Division of the Supreme Court.

Court of Appeal

The Court of Appeal hears appeals from the Trial Division of the Supreme Court and other Victorian courts and tribunals. It is headed by the President of the Court of Appeal.

The Chief Justice, the President of the Court of Appeal and a number of appeal justices make up the Court of Appeal. Usually three judges will hear an appeal, although five may sit if the matter is very significant.

Everyday-Law recommends


Information on the history, structure and operations of the Supreme Court of Victoria. It includes colour photographs and diagrams.

Published: 2014

This page was last updated on January 24, 2017